CFL Divisions

The Canadian Football League (CFL), consisting of the East Division and the West Division, boasts a long, storied history. Formed from the merger of the Big Four and the Western Interprovincial Football Union (WIFU) in 1958, each division has its unique set of achievements.

East Division: Celebrated Teams and Achievements

The East Division, composed of the Hamilton Tiger-Cats, Ottawa Redblacks, Montreal Alouettes, and Toronto Argonauts, holds an impressive record. With 27 Grey Cups to their name, the East Division teams have consistently shown exemplary performance. In fact, the Toronto Argonauts secured the latest Grey Cup victory for the division in 2022.

West Division: A Strong Presence in CFL

Moving westward, the West Division features the BC Lions, Calgary Stampeders, Edmonton Elks, Saskatchewan Roughriders, and Winnipeg Blue Bombers. In terms of Grey Cup wins, the West Division edges out the East Division, securing 35 victories. The Winnipeg Blue Bombers clinched the latest Grey Cup for this division in 2021.

Delving into the Origins

Understanding the origins of these divisions helps us appreciate their legacy. Both divisions emerged in 1958, a result of the fusion between the Big Four and the WIFU. The Big Four represented eastern Canadian teams, while the WIFU carried the banner for the West.

The Power of the Past

Exploring the history of the CFL divisions illuminates the competition’s intense dynamics. With the East Division’s 27 Grey Cup victories and the West Division’s 35, the power balance is tangible. These achievements fuel the fierce rivalry between the divisions, making the CFL a thrilling spectacle.

Use and Importance of CFL Team Stats in Betting

Understanding CFL team stats is crucial for successful betting in the Canadian Football League. These stats reveal the performance trends of the East and West Division teams, serving as a reliable base for predictions. 

You can assess a team’s offensive and defensive strength, as well as its consistency, by examining its historical and current data. The stats also offer insights into individual player performances, shedding light on potential game-changers. 

Knowledge of previous Grey Cup wins, such as the East Division’s 27 victories and the West Division’s 28, can further guide your betting decisions. 

So, while luck may play a part, your well-informed decisions, backed by CFL team stats, can significantly boost your chances of placing winning bets.

CFL Team Stats FAQs

Which division has won the most Grey Cups?

The West Division has won the most Grey Cups, with 35 victories as of 2022.

When was the latest Grey Cup victory for each Division?

The latest Grey Cup victory for the East Division was secured by the Toronto Argonauts in 2022 (they are the current champions). The latest victory in the Grey Cup for the West Division was the Winnipeg Blue Bombers in 2021.

How were the East and West Divisions formed?

The East and West Divisions were formed in 1958 from the merger of the Big Four and the WIFU.